1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chaos Cup

Discussion in 'Tournaments & Leagues' started by Jules, Aug 13, 2019.

  1. Jules

    Jules Developer Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    2,032
    Trophy Points:
    113
    2019_0812_chaoscup1.jpg

    Countdown to tournament start
    Sign-up Instructions
    Sign-up begins as soon as v4.03 goes live (August 15) and ends on August 30
    1. Start the game, and join a private lobby with your teammate by typing /join <team name> (e.g. /join Snail Kings) in Global Chat
    2. Type /signup while in the private lobby
    Signing up is free, and there are no rating requirements (must be level 4). The first 40 teams to sign up will be guaranteed a spot. The rest will be on a waitlist.

    To find a teammate, ask a friend or player in-game, or use looking-for-group.

    Schedule

    Saturday, August 31
    • Check-in: 8:30am PST (5:30pm CEST) at tournament-checkin
    • Games: 8:45am - 12pm PST (5:45pm - 9pm CEST)
    To check-in, both players must be present. Any team that is not checked-in before 8:40am PST (5:40pm CEST) will be immediately disqualified.

    Sunday, September 1
    Top 6 teams from Saturday
    • Check-in: 8:30am PST (5:30pm CEST) at tournament-checkin
    • Games: 8:45am - 12:30pm PST (5:45pm - 9:30pm CEST)
    Saturday, August 31
    • 8:30am PST (5:30pm CEST): Check-in
    • 8:45am PST (5:45pm CEST): Game 1
    • 9:20am PST (6:20pm CEST): Game 2
    • 9:55am PST (6:55pm CEST): Game 3
    • 10:30am PST (7:30pm CEST): Game 4
    • 11:05pm PST (8:05pm CEST): Game 5
    • 11:40pm PST (8:40pm CEST): Game 6
    Sunday, September 1
    • 8:30am PST (5:30pm CEST): Check-in
    • 8:45am PST (5:45pm CEST): Winner's Round 1
    • 9:20am PST (6:20pm CEST): Winner's Round 2
    • 9:55am PST (6:55pm CEST): Loser's Round 1
    • 10:30am PST (7:30pm CEST): Winner's Semifinals & Loser's Round 2
    • 11:05pm PST (8:05pm CEST): 3rd Place Match
    • 11:40pm PST (8:40pm CEST): Grandfinal
    • 12:15pm PST (9:15pm CEST): Grandfinal game 2, if necessary

    Prizes

    Every player that fully participates without dropping out will be awarded a Mystery Card, which you reveal to get a random collectible card that can also be used as an avatar.

    Mystery Card.png

    1st, 2nd, & 3rd place
    will receive an exclusive gold, silver, or bronze in-game badge that can also be used as an avatar.

    Gold (1).png Silver (1).png Bronze (1).png

    Format
    • Mastermind 2v2
    • 2x Chaos with 300 starting gold
    • Day 1: 6-game Swiss. Top 6 teams advance to day 2
    • Day 2: Bo1 Double Elimination
      • Seeds 1 and 2 get byes in round 1
      • Seed 3 selects their opponent from seeds 5 and 6
      • Seed 1 selects their side of the bracket (seed 3 side or seed 4 side)
    Tiebreakers

    Ties will be broken in the following order:
    1. Wins vs. tied teams
    2. Median-Buchholz
    3. Best win
    4. Worst loss
    5. Best match
    6. Worst match
    7. Coin flip
    1. Wins vs. tied teams - This is an extension of a "heads up" record. If your team and another team are tied, if you played each other, the winner will advance. If 3 or more teams are tied, the records of those teams against each other determine who advances.
    2. If there are still ties, Median-Bucholz is used. This is a measure of "strength of schedule" that uses the scores of the teams you played against, less the best and worst team you played against to remove outliers.
    3. If there are still ties, the highest-performing team you beat determines who advances.
    4. If there are still ties, the lowest-performing team you lost to determines who advances.
    5. If there are still ties, the highest-performing team you played determines who advances.
    6. If there are still ties, the lowest-performing team you played determines who advances.
    7. If there are still ties, random.org is used. It's almost impossible it comes to this.
    Changing teammates
    • If you need to change teammates, sign up again with your new teammate and notify your former teammate. He or she must also signup again to participate.
    Dropping from the tournament
    • Dropping from the tournament after it has started ruins the experience for others and may result in being banned from future tournaments. If you must drop, please find a substitute.
    • If you wish to drop from the tournament, tag Seraphin in tournament-lobby.
    Substitution
    • You can substitute players as needed. Only 2 players on each team will be awarded prizes.
    Lobby Creation, Side Selection, & Player Positions
    1. The top team (the team that is displayed on top in the Challonge bracket) creates the custom game lobby.
    2. The top team selects its preferred side (west or east).
    3. The bottom team selects its preferred player positions
    4. The top team selects its preferred player positions
    5. Once both teams confirm they are ready, the game can be started
    The only exception is Grandfinals game 2, in which the teams swap

    Reporting Results
    Game-impacting Bugs, Disconnects, & Remakes
    • In general, we will not be honoring remake requests. Legion TD 2 is an Early Access game, and there will inevitably be bugs. Remakes cause delays that compromise the entire tournament's schedule and also encourage players to cheat by disconnecting or reporting a bug if they are losing or have bad rolls.
    • You should not request a remake, unless it's an obviously critical bug, such as being unable to deploy fighters.
    • Pathing and targeting issues generally will not be considered worthy of a remake.
    • You cannot ask the opposing team for permission to remake. That decision is made by the staff, not the opposing team.
    • To request a remake, you must:
    1. Record your games (here's a guide on how to do that).
    2. Notify the opposing team that you are requesting a remake immediately at the time of the game-impacting bug.
    3. Notify Seraphin in tournament-lobby that you are requesting a remake immediately at the time of the game-impacting bug.
    4. Share video footage of the game-impacting bug with staff.
    Staff will review the video and make a decision based on (1) the severity of the bug, (2) the state of the game, and (3) implications on the tournament's schedule. If it is determined that the bug critically impacted the team's ability to win by 40%+ (e.g. the team's chance of winning decreased from 60% -> 20%) and if remaking wouldn't disrupt the tournament's schedule, a remake may be granted.

    Tournament Director: Seraphin
    Casters: deutscherhawk, Cornep, Jules
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2019