1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Masters Cup III ($500 prize pool)

Discussion in 'Tournaments & Leagues' started by Jules, Mar 1, 2019.

  1. Jules

    Jules Developer Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    2,061
    Trophy Points:
    113
    2019_0325_masterscup3_edit2.jpg

    Note that due to daylight savings' shenanigans, the PST times are the same on both days, but the Central European times are different by 1 hour.

    Countdown to tournament start
    • Sign-ups: End March 25
    • Tournament: March 30-31
    • $500 prize pool
    This is an official tournament, sponsored by AutoAttack Games. Tournament director: Seraphin

    Teams and Bracket
    Qualification
    • Teams with an average peak rating in season 3 of 1500+ qualify
    Sign-ups
    • End Monday, March 25 at 2pm PST (11pm CET)
    • Sign-up is completely free
    Sign-up instructions
    1. Have you and your teammate type /join <team name> (e.g. /join Snail Kings) in Global Chat to join a private lobby.
    2. Have one player type /signup while in the private lobby
    Early sign-up
    • To encourage signing up early, your team's seed rating will be adjusted by +3 for each day you sign up before March 25. For example, if you sign up on March 5 (20 days before March 25), you will gain 20x3 = +60 seed rating. It is advantageous to sign up early.
    Changing teammates
    • If you need to change teammates, sign up again with your new teammate and notify your former teammate. He or she must also signup again to participate.
    Dropping from the tournament
    Substitution rules
    • Substitutes should be rare and only if necessary, when one member of your team cannot participate in all games.
    • You must declare your substitute during the sign-up process (before the tournament starts). Tag Seraphin in tournament_lobby.
    Best ways to find a teammate
    • Play with a friend
    • Ask someone in one of your ranked games
    • Post in the community Discord or on the forums and mention your peak rating
    Schedule

    Note that due to daylight savings' shenanigans, the PST times are the same on both days, but the Central European are different by 1 hour.

    Saturday, March 30

    Everyone is guaranteed to play 5-6 games
    • 9:40am PST (5:40pm CET): Check-in at tournament_checkin
    • 9:45am PST (5:45pm CET): Game 1
    • 10:20am PST (6:20pm CET): Game 2
    • 10:55am PST (6:55pm CET): Game 3
    • 11:30am PST (7:30pm CET): Game 4
    • 12:05pm PST (8:05pm CET): Game 5
    • 12:40pm PST (8:40pm CET): Game 6
    Sunday, March 31
    Only the top 6 teams from day 1
    • 9:40am PST (6:40pm CEST): Check-in at tournament_checkin
    • 9:45am PST (6:45pm CEST): Winner's Round 1
    • 10:20am PST (7:20pm CEST): Winner's Round 2
    • 10:55am PST (7:55pm CEST): Loser's Round 1
    • 11:30am PST (8:30pm CEST): Winner's Semifinals & Loser's Round 2
    • 12:05pm PST (9:05pm CEST): Loser's Round 3
    • 12:40pm PST (9:40pm CEST): Grandfinal
    • 1:15pm PST (10:15pm CEST): Grandfinal game 2, if necessary
    Prizes

    1st Place
    • $250 USD
    • Gold Masters Cup III in-game badge
    2nd Place
    • $150 USD
    • Silver Masters Cup III in-game badge
    3rd Place
    • $100 USD
    • Bronze Masters Cup III in-game badge
    MastersCup3BadgePreview.jpg

    Rules

    Format

    • Mastermind 2v2
    • Day 1: 6-game Swiss. Top 6 teams advance to day 2
      • Ties broken by (1) wins vs. tied participants, then by (2) Median-Buchholz
    • Day 2: Bo1 Double Elimination
      • Seeds 1 and 2 will get byes in round 1
      • Seed 3 will select their opponent from seeds 5 and 6
      • Seed 4 will play the remaining opponent (seed 5 or 6)
      • Seed 1 will select their side of the bracket (seed 3 side or seed 4 side)
    Seeding
    • Teams will be seeded by their average peak rating in season 3 + the bonus for signing up early. Peak ratings will be automatically calculated at the end of sign-up. You only need to sign up once, and it is advantageous to sign up early.
    Ready Up
    • Teams must announce in tournament_checkin that they are ready within 5 minutes of each game's official start time. Failure to do so will result in an automatic forfeit. The only exception is if their previous game is going long.
    • If either player on your team fails to show for the game on time, this may result in a ban from participating in future tournaments.
    Lobby Creation, Side Selection, & Player Positions (Day 1: Swiss)
    1. The top team (the team that is displayed on top in the Challonge bracket) creates the custom game lobby. This may differ from seed order.
    2. The top team selects its preferred side (west or east).
    3. The bottom team selects its preferred player positions
    4. The top team selects its preferred player positions
    5. Once both teams confirm they are ready, the game can be started
    Lobby Creation, Side Selection, & Player Positions (Day 2: Double Elimination)

    The higher seeded (closer to 1) team will always get side selection (west or east) and player position priority. This may differ from what is displayed in the Challonge bracket. The only exception is Grandfinals game 2, in which the teams swap.

    Reporting Results
    Game-impacting Bugs, Disconnects, & Remakes
    • In general, we will not be honoring remake requests. Legion TD 2 is an Early Access game, and there will inevitably be bugs. Remakes cause delays that compromise the entire tournament's schedule and also encourage players to cheat by disconnecting or reporting a bug if they are losing or have bad rolls.
    • You should not request a remake, unless it's an obviously critical bug, such as being unable to deploy fighters.
    • Pathing and targeting issues (especially mid and late game) generally will not be considered worthy of a remake.
    • You cannot ask the opposing team for permission to remake. That decision is made by the staff, not the opposing team.
    • To request a remake, you must:
    1. Record your games (here's a guide on how to do that).
    2. Notify the opposing team that you are requesting a remake immediately at the time of the game-impacting bug.
    3. Notify Seraphin in tournament_lobby that you are requesting a remake immediately at the time of the game-impacting bug.
    4. Share video footage of the game-impacting bug with staff.
    Staff will review the video and make a decision based on (1) the severity of the bug, (2) the state of the game, and (3) implications on the tournament's schedule. If it is determined that the bug critically impacted the team's ability to win by 40%+ (e.g. the team's chance of winning decreased from 60% -> 20%) and if remaking wouldn't disrupt the tournament's schedule, a remake may be granted.

    Casting

    Select games will be streamed and casted LForward on Twitch at twitch.tv/LForward. Games will have a 10-minute delay. LForward will notify you in advance if he plans to cast your game.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2019
    basti, ViccieLeaks, Mick and 4 others like this.
  2. Mick

    Mick Member

    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Looking for an ally, got 1850 peak rating so far this season. Wish to practice a little bit for the tournament.
     
    Seraphin and Jules like this.
  3. Jules

    Jules Developer Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    2,061
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Some comments on why we chose the format for Masters Cup III:
    • Masters Cup I (Double Elim): Not enough games (felt bad for weaker teams)
    • Masters Cup II (Swiss): Too many dropouts day 2 by losing teams
    • Mastermind Lords (Swiss -> Single Elim): Day 1 performance didn't matter enough, and too much variance with single elim
    • Masters Cup III (Swiss -> Double Elim)
    The two main improvements with Masters Cup III over Mastermind Lords are:
    1. Double elim instead of single elim
    2. Day 1 performance matters more (seed 3 will get to select their opponent from seeds 5 and 6, and seed 1 will get to select their side of the bracket)
     
    Seraphin likes this.
  4. Seraphin

    Seraphin Member

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    43
    I just don't agree about one thing. During Mastermind Lord, the first two seed at the end of Day 1 were directly qualified for semi final rather than quaterfinal.
    However, I still agree you didn't care to finish third or 6. In this case, the format proposed for Master Cup III is really better.
    Concerning the day 2, as you said, there are less rng by rolls and so make the second day more balanced I think.

    I can hope we have the good format for this kind of tournament :)

    Cannot wait to see teams !! :D :D
     
    Jules likes this.
  5. Seraphin

    Seraphin Member

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Hello everybody,

    Just want to warn you that you have only 4 days to sign up to the tournament !

    See you for the tournament :D
     
  6. Jules

    Jules Developer Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    2,061
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Thanks to @deutscherhawk, we are all saved and have made a correction to the schedule. Because Europe is observing daylight savings time in the middle of the tournament, it makes things confusing, so please be mindful of the times. The PST times are the same on both days, but the Central European times are different by 1 hour. Every country does daylight savings slightly differently, so please know your own country's rules.

    Saturday, March 30
    • 9:40am PST (5:40pm CET): Check-in
    • 9:45am PST (5:45pm CET): Game 1
    • 10:20am PST (6:20pm CET): Game 2
    • 10:55am PST (6:55pm CET): Game 3
    • 11:30am PST (7:30pm CET): Game 4
    • 12:05pm PST (8:05pm CET): Game 5
    • 12:40pm PST (8:40pm CET): Game 6
    Sunday, March 31
    • 9:40am PST (6:40pm CEST): Check-in
    • 9:45am PST (6:45pm CEST): Winner's Round 1
    • 10:15am PST (7:15pm CEST): Winner's Round 2
    • 10:45am PST (7:45pm CEST): Loser's Round 1
    • 11:15am PST (8:15pm CEST): Loser's Round 2
    • 11:45am PST (8:45pm CEST): Winner's Semifinals
    • 12:15pm PST (9:15pm CEST): Loser's Round 3
    • 12:45pm PST (9:45pm CEST): Grandfinal
    • 1:15pm PST (10:15pm CEST): Grandfinal game 2, if necessary
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2019
    Seraphin likes this.
  7. Seraphin

    Seraphin Member

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Hello everybody !

    Registration for the tournament is officially closed. No late registration will be accepted.
    So, 36 teams will compete for this tournament with an average (team) peak rating of 1759 and a median (team) peak rating 1691! That's awesome since it means a lot of top 100 players are playing this tournament ! We will see, for sure, a lot of skills!
    No more than 21 countries will be represented during this official tournament ! :D

    You can find the bracket here! Be careful, this bracket can change depending on potential teams which drop out. You will be, obviously, warned before the beginning of the tournament the updated bracket.

    Finally, I would like to remind you two points :
    - If you, finally, cannot participate to the tournament. Thank you to tell me or @Jules as soon as possible please. It is really important for us in order to have a fluid tournament and start at time.
    - For european players, don't forget this week-end we change time (last year we should suffer this haha). See @Jules post to see when we start. Be careful with your country official time (I think I remember this is different for Eastern and Western country).
    If you have any question about this, just ask me or @Jules

    If you need to contact us, obviously, you can contact us on this forum or by using the official discord on the Tournament_Lobby channel please.

    Thank you very much everybody and good training for the participants! Cannot wait to do this tournament :D
     
    Jules likes this.
  8. GvR Mr Mister

    GvR Mr Mister Member

    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    43
    7:30/8:30 am?^^
     
    Jules likes this.
  9. Seraphin

    Seraphin Member

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Yeah finally, we do the tournament in early morning. The goal is to see who is really motivated :p:p

    That's obviously a mistake. This is pm!
     
    Jules and GvR Mr Mister like this.
  10. Seraphin

    Seraphin Member

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Hello everybody! The tournament is starting now!! You can watch it directly here :
     
  11. Seraphin

    Seraphin Member

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    43