1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Masters Cup VI ($500 prize pool)

Discussion in 'Tournaments & Leagues' started by Jules, Feb 28, 2020.

  1. Jules

    Jules Developer Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    2,156
    Trophy Points:
    113
    2020_0228_masterscup6_fixed.jpg

    Countdown to tournament start
    Sign-up Instructions
    You may sign up as a team or individually. The first 80 players to sign up will be guaranteed a spot; the rest will be waitlisted.

    Team sign-up

    • Your team must have an average peak season 5 rating of 1500+ to sign up
    • Team sign-up begins now and ends March 27 at 11pm PST
    1. Start the game, and join a private lobby with your teammate by typing /join <team name> (e.g. /join Snail Kings) in Global Chat
    2. Type /signup in the private lobby
    Individual sign-up
    • You must have a peak season 5 rating of 1500+ to sign up
    • Individual sign-up begins now and ends March 22 at 11pm PST
    • Individuals will be paired with the player closest to them in rating
    • If there are an odd number of individual sign-ups, the last player to sign up will not be paired and must look for a teammate on his own
    1. To sign up individually, type /signup in Global Chat
    Schedule

    Saturday, March 28
    • Check-in: 8:40am PST (4:40pm CET) at tournament-checkin
    • Games: 8:55am - 12pm PST (4:55pm - 8pm CET)
    To check-in, both players must be present. Any team that is not checked-in before 8:45am PST (4:45pm CET) will be immediately disqualified.

    Sunday, March 29
    Top 6 teams from Saturday
    • Check-in: 8:50am PST (5:50pm CEST) at tournament-checkin
    • Games: 8:55am - 12pm PST (5:55pm - 9pm CEST)
    Saturday, March 28
    • 8:40am PST (4:40pm CET): Check-in
    • 8:55am PST (4:55pm CET): Game 1
    • 9:25am PST (5:25pm CET): Game 2
    • 9:55am PST (5:55pm CET): Game 3
    • 10:25am PST (6:25pm CET): Game 4
    • 10:55pm PST (6:55pm CET): Game 5
    • 11:25pm PST (7:25pm CET): Game 6
    Sunday, March 29
    • 8:50am PST (5:50pm CEST): Check-in
    • 8:55am PST (5:55pm CEST): Winner's Round 1
    • 9:20am PST (6:20pm CEST): Winner's Round 2
    • 9:45am PST (6:45pm CEST): Loser's Round 1
    • 10:10am PST (7:10pm CEST): Loser's Round 2
    • 10:35am PST (7:35pm CEST): Winner's Semifinals
    • 11:00am PST (8:00pm CEST): 3rd Place Match
    • 11:25am PST (8:25pm CEST): Grandfinal
    • 11:50am PST (8:50pm CEST): Grandfinal game 2, if necessary

    Prizes

    Every player that fully participates without dropping out will be awarded a Mysterious Card, which you reveal to get a random collectible card that can also be used as an avatar.

    Mystery Card.png

    1st Place

    Gold.png
    • $250 USD
    • Gold Masters Cup VI in-game badge
    2nd Place
    Silver.png
    • $150 USD
    • Silver Masters Cup VI in-game badge
    3rd Place
    Bronze.png
    • $100 USD
    • Bronze Masters Cup VI in-game badge
    Format
    • Mastermind 2v2
    • Day 1: 6-game Swiss. Top 6 teams advance to day 2
    • Day 2: Bo1 Double Elimination
      • Seeds 1 and 2 get byes in round 1
      • Seed 3 selects their opponent from seeds 5 and 6
      • Seed 1 selects their side of the bracket (seed 3 side or seed 4 side)
    Tiebreakers

    Ties will be broken in the following order:
    1. Wins vs. tied teams
    2. Median-Buchholz
    3. Best win
    4. Worst loss
    5. Best match
    6. Worst match
    7. Coin flip
    1. Wins vs. tied teams - This is an extension of a "heads up" record. If your team and another team are tied, if you played each other, the winner will advance. If 3 or more teams are tied, the records of those teams against each other determine who advances.
    2. If there are still ties, Median-Bucholz is used. This is a measure of "strength of schedule" that uses the scores of the teams you played against, less the best and worst team you played against to remove outliers.
    3. If there are still ties, the highest-performing team you beat determines who advances
    4. If there are still ties, the lowest-performing team you lost to determines who advances
    5. If there are still ties, the highest-performing team you played determines who advances
    6. If there are still ties, the lowest-performing team you played determines who advances
    7. If there are still ties, random.org is used
    Changing teammates
    • If you need to change teammates, sign up again with your new teammate and notify your former teammate. He or she must also signup again to participate.
    • If you were automatically paired with a teammate via individual sign-up, you need permission from that player to get a new teammate.
    Dropping from the tournament
    • Dropping from the tournament after it has started ruins the experience for others. If you must drop, please find a substitute.
    • If you wish to drop from the tournament, tag Seraphin in tournament-lobby.
    Substitution
    • You can substitute players as needed. Only 2 players on each team will be awarded prizes.
    Lobby Creation, Side Selection, & Player Positions
    1. The top team (the team that is displayed on top in the Challonge bracket) creates the custom game lobby.
    2. The top team selects its preferred side (west or east).
    3. The bottom team selects its preferred player positions
    4. The top team selects its preferred player positions
    5. Once both teams confirm they are ready, the game can be started
    Reporting Results
    Game-impacting Bugs, Disconnects, & Remakes
    • In general, we will not honor remake requests. Legion TD 2 is an Early Access game, and there will inevitably be bugs. Remakes cause delays that compromise the entire tournament's schedule and also encourage players to cheat by disconnecting or reporting a bug if they are losing or have bad rolls.
    • You should not request a remake, unless it's an obviously critical bug, such as being unable to deploy fighters.
    • Pathing and targeting issues generally will not be considered worthy of a remake.
    • You cannot ask the opposing team for permission to remake. That decision is made by the staff, not the opposing team.
    • To request a remake, you must:
    1. Record your games
    2. Notify the opposing team that you are requesting a remake immediately at the time of the game-impacting bug.
    3. Notify Seraphin in tournament-lobby that you are requesting a remake immediately at the time of the game-impacting bug.
    4. Share video footage of the game-impacting bug with staff.
    Staff will review the video and make a decision based on (1) the severity of the bug, (2) the state of the game, and (3) implications on the tournament's schedule. If it is determined that the bug critically impacted the team's ability to win and if remaking wouldn't disrupt the tournament's schedule, a remake may be granted.

    Tournament Director: Seraphin
    Caster: Jules
    Stream: twitch.tv/ltd2
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2020
    holepercent, Rave, Lisk and 5 others like this.
  2. Seraphin

    Seraphin Member

    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    237
    Trophy Points:
    43
    And here we are again !! :);) Cannot wait this wonderful tournament !!
     
    holepercent and Lisk like this.
  3. GvR Mr Mister

    GvR Mr Mister Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Bonny likes this.
  4. Egekaer

    Egekaer Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So guess I have 2 weeks to get back in shape. Got plenty of time because of the covid-19 hysteria, anyway.

    Nice that you guys have made this a continuous thing
     
    Jules and Lisk like this.
  5. Steven

    Steven Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    @Jules Its Masters Cup 6, not 5, so fix badges pls ("V" -> "VI").
     
  6. Jules

    Jules Developer Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    2,156
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Fixed, thank you.
     
  7. Jules

    Jules Developer Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    2,156
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Solo signups are now closed! The following teams have been formed via solo signups:
    • Rave & Excite Goku
    • SSP & Zenapi
    • Sanchez & Brad
    • Loordoo & Only Ambition
    • marvx & Papai Zeita
    • Bottom.Feeder & The Ronin
    • Spunky420 & Maxitnr
    • Nonix & univoid
    • Chiropteran & KapiNirer
    • BismarckTheGreat & thefieryninja
    • amish5001 & Kodenhobold
    Please reach out to your teammate and let us know your team name.
     
    Seraphin likes this.
  8. Jules

    Jules Developer Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    2,156
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The original schedule had incorrect CET/CEST times, my apologies. It is now updated.

    Please check in tomorrow in the Legion TD 2 Discord at 8:40am PST / 4:40pm CET. If possible, log into the game sooner. There are known ISP issues (Telekom and others) that are occasionally preventing players from logging in. Telekom users are encouraged to use a VPN.

    Best of luck to everyone tomorrow!

    2020_0228_masterscup6_fixed.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2020
  9. Mick

    Mick Member

    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    232
    Trophy Points:
    43
    When will the bracket be up? Wanna try to give a prediction if possible.
     
  10. Seraphin

    Seraphin Member

    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    237
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Bracket should be available in 1 hour or 2. However, the bracket could change depending on potential teams drop off.